Schools in 15 new counties added to Communities in Schools program

Schools in 15 new counties are being added to West Virginia’s Communities In Schools program.

The new counties are Barbour, Boone, Cabell, Doddridge, Hancock, Jefferson, Marion, Mason, Mineral, Monongalia, Ohio, Pocahontas, Putnam, Roane, Tucker, Tyler, Wetzel, Wirt, and Wood.

Communities in Schools build community partnerships and bring resources into schools to prevent student dropout and increase graduation rates.

“Communities In Schools has had a life-changing impact on thousands of students in our state,” State Superintendent of Schools Michele L. Blatt said. “The relationships between site coordinators, schools, students, and families are at the core of this success. These students need supports and structures that help them recover from setbacks and regain the confidence to believe they can do great things. Communities In Schools is essential to opening options and pathways for those needing hope and a vision for their future.”

The new CIS counties/schools announced today are as follows:Barbour County

  • Kasson Elementary/Middle School
  • Philippi Middle School
  • Philip Barbour High School 

Boone County

  • Madison Elementary School
  • Van Elementary School
  • Sherman High School

Doddridge County

  • Doddridge County Elementary School
  • Doddridge County Middle School
  • Doddridge County High School

Hancock County

  • Weirton Elementary School
  • Weir Middle School
  • Weir High School

Jefferson County

  • T.A. Lowery Elementary School 
  • Wildwood Middle School
  • Jefferson High School 

Marion County

  • Watson Elementary School
  • West Fairmont Middle School
  • Fairmont Senior High School

Mason County

  • Point Pleasant Primary 
  • Leon Elementary School
  • Point Pleasant Intermediate
  • Point Pleasant Junior/Senior High School

Mineral County

  • Keyser Primary School 
  • Keyser Middle School 
  • Keyser High School

Monongalia County

  • Skyview Elementary School
  • Westwood Middle School
  • University High School 

Putnam County

  • Buffalo Elementary School

Roane County

  • Spencer Elementary School
  • Spencer Middle School
  • Roane County High School

Tucker County

  • Davis Thomas Elementary Middle School
  • Tucker Valley Elementary Middle School
  • Tucker County High School

Wetzel County

  • New Martinsville School
  • Paden City Elementary School
  • Paden City High School
  • Magnolia High School

Wirt County

  • Wirt County High School

Wood County

  • Jefferson Elementary Center
  • Van Devender Middle School
  • Parkersburg High School

The new schools in counties already participating in CIS are as follows:Cabell County

  • Highlawn Elementary School
  • Huntington Middle School

Ohio County

  • Elm Grove Elementary School

Pocahontas County

  • Marlinton Elementary School

Tyler County

  • Tyler Consolidated Middle School
Sponsored Content