Eight Mountaineers Included in Big 12 Awards

WOAY – The Big 12 Conference released its 2018 football awards on Wednesday, with eight Mountaineers named to the two postseason teams.

Linebacker David Long was named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year, after leading WVU with 97 tackles, including 18.5 tackles for loss. He is joined on the First Team by wide receiver David Sills, offensive lineman Yodny Cajuste (the conference’s co-Offensive Lineman of the Year), tight end Trevon Wesco, and safety Kenny Robinson. Sills is the first Mountaineer to be named to consecutive All-Big 12 First Teams.

Representing WVU on the second team is senior quarterback Will Grier – who received votes for Offensive Player of the Year – along with offensive lineman Josh Sills and defensive lineman Kenny Bigelow.

Nine Mountaineers were included in the Honorable Mention category; Dana Holgorsen received votes for Coach of the Year, but that honor was shared by Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley & Iowa State’s Matt Campbell.

West Virginia awaits its bowl opponent and destination, which will be announced Sunday.

Sponsored Content