CFB watch list update – July 23

WOAY – Three West Virginia Mountaineers, two Marshall Thundering Herd players, and one Virginia Tech Hokie were named to preseason watch lists Thursday for two individual college football awards.

WVU quarterback Jarret Doege, wide receiver Sam James, and safety Sean Mahone are all on the watch list for the Wuerffel Trophy, which is referred to as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service.” It is the first watch list mention of the summer for all three players. Also mentioned on the Wuerffel list is Marshall’s Brenden Knox, who is also on the Doak Walker list.

Marshall tight end Xavier Gaines was named to the Hornung Award watch list, for the most versatile player in college football. Virginia Tech’s Tayvion Robinson, the Hokies’ third-leading receiver in 2019, was also mentioned. WVU’s Tavon Austin won the Hornung Award in 2012.

Award watch list tally through July 23

WEST VIRGINIA – Jarret Doege (Wuerffel), Sam James (Wuerffel), Sean Mahone (Wuerffel), Dante Stills (Nagurski, Outland), Darius Stills (Bednarik, Nagurski, Outland)

MARSHALL – Tavante Beckett (Nagurski), Xavier Gaines (Hornung), Brenden Knox (Doak Walker, Wuerffel), Cain Madden (Outland)

VIRGINIA TECH – Rayshard Ashby (Bednarik, Butkus, Nagurski), Oscar Bradburn (Ray Guy), Christian Darrisaw (Outland), Caleb Farley (Bednarik, Jim Thorpe, Nagurski), Brian Johnson (Lou Groza), Tayvion Robinson (Hornung), Jermaine Waller (Jim Thorpe)

Sponsored Content