Sam O’Dell Wins 99th WV Amateur

White Sulphur Springs, WV (WOAY) – For the fourth time overall, and third time in four years, Sam O’Dell is the West Virginia Amateur champion.

The Hurricane native overcame obstacles late in his final round Thursday to post a 72-hole of 282 (+2), besting 13-time Amateur champion Pat Carter by two strokes.

O’Dell held the solo lead for much of the final round, before a double bogey on #16. Carter missed a birdie putt that would have given him the outright lead, but the ensuing par meant the two were tied at +3. O’Dell would birdie the 17th to retake the lead, posting par on the 18th to secure the win.

Nick Dent of White Sulphur Springs was the top area finisher at 290 (+10), placing fourth. He had the lowest round of the week when he posted 66 on Wednesday.

O’Dell’s win means he will earn an invitation to the 2019 Greenbrier Classic. He’ll play in this year’s event as the winner of last year’s Amateur.

Top 5 overall standings:

1. Sam O’Dell (Hurricane): +2 (72-67-70-73)
2. Pat Carter (Hurricane): +4 (67-77-67-73)
3. Nick Biesecker (Charleston): +5 (77-70-68-70)
4. Nick Dent (White Sulphur Springs): +10 (77-71-66-76)
5. Three golfers at +12

Area golfers who made the cut:

4.  Nick Dent
T19. Tyler Hillyer (Princeton), Patrick Smith (Beckley)
T28. Brett Laxton (Pineville)
T30. Jeff McGraw (Princeton), Walker Dent (White Sulphur Springs), Isaiah Zaccheo (Beckley)
T34. Landon Perry (Shady Spring)
T45. Derek Brooks (Mullens)

Sponsored Content