West Virginia Medal of Honor Woody Williams to participate in Super Bowl coin toss

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) – The NFL will salute 15 recipients of the Medal of Honor, the United States’ most prestigious military decoration, when they participate in the coin toss before the Super Bowl on Feb. 4.

World War II veteran Hershel Woodrow “Woody” Williams, who received the Medal of Honor during the Battle of Iwo Jima, will flip the coin, surrounded by the group of recipients.

“The NFL is proud to honor our nation’s heroes at Super Bowl 52,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said. “These courageous individuals deserve to be recognized on America’s biggest stage. We are grateful for their service to our country and we are pleased to continue the NFL’s longstanding tradition of hosting special tributes to service members at the Super Bowl.”

The other Medal of Honor recipients participating are:

Bennie Adkins, Army, Vietnam

Don Ballard, Navy, Vietnam

Sammy Davis, Army, Vietnam

Roger Donlon, Army, Vietnam

Sal Giunta, Army, Afghanistan

Flo Groberg, Army, Afghanistan

Tom Kelley, Navy, Vietnam

Allan Kellogg, Marines, Vietnam

Gary Littrell, Army, Vietnam

Walter Marm, Army, Vietnam

Robert Patterson, Army, Vietnam

Leroy Petry, Army, Afghanistan

Clint Romesha, Army, Afghanistan

James Taylor, Army, Vietnam

Sponsored Content
Tyler Barker is currently the News Director and Digital Content Manager for WOAY-TV. He was promoted to this job in Mid-November. He still will fill in on weather from time to time. You can follow Tyler on Facebook and Twitter @wxtylerb. Have any news tips or weather questions? Email him at tbarker@woay.com