West Virginia Designated 55 Opportunity Zones

CHARLESTON– West Virginia’s Opportunity Zones have been approved by the U.S. Treasury Department.

In a tweet today, Speaker Paul Ryan alerted Governor Jim Justice that West Virginia has been approved for 55 Opportunity Zones.

The Opportunity Zones Program gives each state’s Governor the authority to designate “Opportunity Zones” or areas of populations that are eligible to receive private investments through Opportunity Funds. The program is designed to drive long lasting investments into rural and low-income urban communities in every U.S. state and territory.

Opportunity Zones in our area include parts of Bluefield, Princeton, Ronceverte, White Sulphur Springs, Union, Beckley, Summersville and Wyoming and Summers Counties.

Sponsored Content
Tyler Barker is currently the News Director and Digital Content Manager for WOAY-TV. He was promoted to this job in Mid-November. He still will fill in on weather from time to time. You can follow Tyler on Facebook and Twitter @wxtylerb. Have any news tips or weather questions? Email him at tbarker@woay.com