State BOE Approves All But One of Closures Proposed by Fayette Co.

FAYETTE COUNTY–  All but one of the schools the Fayette County School Board wanted to close have been approved by the state board.

The West Virginia Board of Education met Wednesday night to vote on the proposed Fayette County closures. The only one not accepted was Meadow Bridge High School. Among the schools to close are:

Mount Hope Elementary

Rosedale Elementary

Fayetteville High School

Fayetteville Elementary

Gatewood Elementary

Ansted Middle School

Valley High School

Valley Elementary

The county wanted to move 7th and 8th graders to Meadow Bridge Elementary and move 9th through 12th graders to either Midland Trail or Greenbrier West High Schools. The state board denied this closure citing student transportation issues.

This will leave the county with three high schools.

Sponsored Content
Tyler Barker is currently the News Director and Digital Content Manager for WOAY-TV. He was promoted to this job in Mid-November. He still will fill in on weather from time to time. You can follow Tyler on Facebook and Twitter @wxtylerb. Have any news tips or weather questions? Email him at