Rep. Jenkins Help Secure Funding For National Coal Heritage Area Authority

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WOAY)– Through his work on the House Appropriations Committee, U.S. Representative Evan Jenkins (R-W.Va.) has helped secure an increase in funding for the National Coal Heritage Area Authority.

The National Coal Heritage Area Authority will receive $327,720 in Fiscal Year 2018 from the National Park Service through the Heritage Partnership Program. This funding will allow them to support additional tourism projects through community grant programs.

In previous years, the authority has funded projects like the Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine, John Henry Historical Park in Summers County, the Country Roads Byway Visitor Center in Logan, the Bramwell Train Depot Visitor Center in Mercer County, and the Hatfield McCoy Country Museum in Williamson.

The area includes 13 counties in West Virginia: Boone, Cabell, Fayette, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Raleigh, Summers, Wayne, Lincoln, Wyoming, and Cabin Creek and Paint Creek in Kanawha County.

“Tourism is an important part of our state’s economy – we have natural beauty that’s second to none and a deep coal mining heritage. The National Coal Heritage Area makes important investments in tourism attractions that preserve and tell our state’s history. As we look for ways to diversify our economy, tourism can and should play an important role in creating jobs and showing visitors the best our state has to offer,” Rep. Jenkins said.

“The federal funding we receive has allowed us to create a network of heritage tourism sites throughout southern West Virginia, not only preserving our history but building tourism assets that help to support the economy. This additional funding will allow us to do more work helping to revitalize our southern West Virginia communities who are working tirelessly to re-create themselves. We are extremely grateful to our congressional delegation for their support of our work and for making this increase possible,” said Christy Bailey, executive director of the National Coal Heritage Area Authority.

The National Coal Heritage Area is one of 49 national heritage areas designated by Congress, with this area focusing on the development of the coal industry and coal communities in southern West Virginia.

Sponsored Content