Greenbrier County Election Results; Lewisburg Elects First Female African-American Mayor

GREENBRIER COUNTY, WV (WOAY) – Municipal Election results are in for several towns in Greenbrier County:

For the Town of Rainelle:

Mayor: Jason Smith with 140 votes.

Recorder: Bill Bell with 150 votes.

City Council:

Danny Milan with 145 votes.

Monica Smithers-Venable with 135 votes.

Ron Fleshman with 111 votes.

Martha Livesay with 139 votes.

John Wyatt with 137 votes.


For the Town of White Sulphur Springs:

Mayor: Bruce Bowling with 67 votes.

Recorder: Kathy Clover with 65 votes.

City Council:

Mary Buskirk Collins with 64 votes.

George “GP” Parker with 63 votes.

Audrey Van Burren with 62 votes.

Mark Gillespie with 62 votes.

Chris Hanna with 60 votes.


For the Town of Lewisburg:

The town has overwhelmingly elected Beverly White as mayor, which makes her the first African American to become Lewisburg’s Mayor.

Edward Johns and Sarah Elkins have been elected to serve a 4-year-term on the common council.

Arron Seams was elected to serve a 2-year-term on the common council.

Current Mayor John Manchester did not seek re-election.

The new members will take the oath of office on  July 1, 2019.

The City of Lewisburg’s unofficial vote totals are as follows:

Mayor, 4 year-Mark Carver-302
Mayor, 4 year-Beverly White-562
Council, 4 year- Edward Johns-516
Council, 4 year- Sarah Elkins-511
Council, 4 year-Tom Shannon-299
Council, 4 year-Martha Hilton-345
Council, 2 year-Arron Seams-553
Council, 2 year- Joe Taylor- 305

Provisional Ballots cast: Precinct 41-2; Precinct 45-1 and Precinct 46-6.

Sponsored Content
Tyler Barker is currently the News Director and Digital Content Manager for WOAY-TV. He was promoted to this job in Mid-November. He still will fill in on weather from time to time. You can follow Tyler on Facebook and Twitter @wxtylerb. Have any news tips or weather questions? Email him at